The oldest part of the building was constructed around 1820 and served as the stable yard and carriageway of The Old Hobart Hotel. Originally intact is Tasmania's oldest plumbed toilet (that dates to 1900) and a hand sawed 1820's weatherboard wall. After the Old Hobart Hotel was demolished in 1830 a new building that now faces Elizabeth street was erected and served as Ash Chemist and Druggist.
Ash Chemist and Druggist operated through the Elizabeth Street site from around 1830 to 2000 and several other additions have been made to the building over the last 100 years. Details of our history trickle in from storytelling at lunch and dinner services through local patrons to our staff. One patron recounted that the site was the first film developing site and also the first film screening site in Hobart.
Remnants of the stories hang and sit quietly on our walls. We have managed to salvage a lot of materials including hundreds of chemist bottles, film processing equipment and packing crates. We have gone to great lengths to re-integrate these pieces of history into Ethos. See below for pictures of the restoration of the site.
Carriageway before and after
Sparkling chandelier made from recycled chemist bottles
Stable yard now dinning room
Before and after stairway in the courtyard
dinning room before and after...what a change
What was old is new!
Bottles have become chandeliers, sugar and milk jugs. Crates now house herbs and other edible plants in the charming courtyard. Old film drying reels are light features and your entrance to Ethos is the 193 year old carriageway. Many would agree that the re-integration of the old artifacts gives the space a very established and comfortable feel.